30/30 Day 3: World of Pokémon Part 3- I Know It’s My Destiny!

Hi, I’m Tyler Magruder, or sorryjzargo as I go by on the internet.  I am going to hopefully complete a 30/30 this month.  If you don’t know what a 30/30 is, it is a blog series where you write one blog a day for a month (on months with 31 days it is called a 31/31).  If I miss a day, I will make it up, but hopefully I won’t miss any days and can call this a success.

If you missed my first blog, you can find it here: http://sorryjzargo.com/2014/06/02/3030-day-1-world-of-pokemon-part-1-the-very-best/

And the previous blog: http://sorryjzargo.com/2014/06/02/3030-day-2-world-of-pokemon-part-2-gotta-catch-em-all/

610 Greninja

(picking up directly where my last blog left off)

            While I did play less Pokémon for a while, it was the Shiny Charm and an exceptional bit of luck that brought me back to the game.  I was casually grinding in the Friend Safari when I ran into a chance shiny.  I quickly caught it, and within five minutes I ran into another.  From then on I was hooked on catching as many shinies as possible.  I’d play for hours grinding in the same location hoping to find a single shiny.  I did manage to get every Generation 1 and 6 starter shiny except for Delphox, and quite a few others either through grinding or trading, but eventually I ran out of steam.

That’s when I discovered the competitive scene.  I knew the basics of IVs and EVs, but I never really took the time to do anything about them before.  When I found out that some of my friends were making competitive teams, I decided that I should too.  However, being somewhat stubborn, I decided to ignore the current metagame and just make a team of Pokémon that I liked.  So my team consisted of Greninja (Protean ftw!), Delphox, Chesnaught, Aegislash, and I rotated the other two.  I was decent at it, but I was never great.  Still, it was enjoyable.

Then I discovered Pokémon Tabletop Adventures.  Pokémon Tabletop Adventures is a Pokémon tabletop roleplaying game.  As a fan of tabletop RPGs, I had looked into Pokémon tabletop games but did not find anything satisfying.  Then a friend introduced me to PTA and offered to run a game.  I agreed and had a blast.  Then I decided to run a game of my own.  Pokémon is even more fun when you have control over the world.  While running my game, I also discovered Pokémon Tabletop United, which is the “sister system” of PTA, but it is more balanced.  So I switched to that.  Both systems give game masters complete freedom in fleshing out their own little corner of the Pokémon world and players the freedom to have actual fleshed-out characters.

Within the last few months, I began playing the incredible Pokémon fan game Pokémon Zeta and Omicron.  Specifically I played Omicron version.  If you don’t know what this is, but you like Pokémon, you should definitely check it out.  Zeta and Omicron are on par with any real Pokémon game, but are loaded with so much more content and a slightly more mature story.  The finished version was just released, though the creator (thesuzerain on Reddit) is still releasing updates to fix the bugs.  Seriously, check this game out.  thesuzerain has clearly put an incredible effort into this game, and it is one of the best Pokémon experiences available.

And this is the present.  I am still playing Pokémon Omicron and Pokémon Tabletop United, as well as occasional multiplayer games in X.  Pokémon has played a major role in my life, and it will undoubtedly continue doing so into the future.

All aboard the hype train for OmegaRuby/AlphaSapphire!

Leave a Reply

